PesaGuide
← All plans
Unaitas Sacco

Unaitas Sacco Membership

SACCO membership · Regulated by the SASRA

It has paid
7.8% a year
their figure, before charges

You join a co-op owned by its members, the largest in Africa by membership. You pay a joining fee and buy shares, then save. The 2023 report proposed about 7.8% on shares. The site does not say what deposits earn.

Hear when this changes

What to watch out for

  • The 7.8% is derived from the dividend proposed in the 2023 annual report: KES 316,872,140 on share capital of KES 4,067,127,204. The report does not state a rate on deposits.
  • The annual-reports page lists 2025 and 2024 reports, but both PDF links return 404. The newest report the site actually serves is for 2023.
  • Joining starts with a minimum membership fee via Mpesa paybill 544700. The amount is not stated on the page.
  • Deposits back loans and are refunded when you leave, provided all debts are cleared. No notice period is stated.
  • Unaitas is entry 155 on SASRA's 2026 register of licensed deposit-taking Saccos, and its own report says it is licensed and regulated by SASRA.
  • Shares cost Ksh 10 each. Minimum purchase is 100 shares (Ksh 1,000). Maximum is 2,000,000 shares (Ksh 20,000,000). Shares are not refundable and cannot be used as collateral.

The details that matter for this kind of plan

Core Capital to Total Assets (CCA) 2025
32.90%
Core Capital to Total Deposits (CCD) 2025
29.12%
Institutional Capital to Total Assets (ICA) 2025
12.84%
External Borrowing to Total Assets 2025
1.39%
NPL Ratio 2025
6.48%

How to open this

  • Open with KES 1,000

What if you stop paying?

Your shares and deposits stay and keep earning what is declared. Loans need you in good standing.

What if you need the money early?

Deposits come back when you leave, with no notice period stated. Shares are not refunded; you sell them to another member.

Who this suits

It could work for you if

You want a large, established Sacco with branches across the country, and you will ask what deposits earn.

Think twice if

You want the declared rate on deposits before you join. It is not on the site.

What they tell you

  • What is the smallest amount you can start with?
    KES 1,000.
  • Is the advertised return before or after their charges?
    Before charges. Their fees still come off this.
  • Do they say who regulates them?
    Yes — the SASRA. That is who you complain to.

Talk to them

Compared with the others

There are 222 other plans of this kind on the board. See all 223 side by side — what each one leaves you with, and which of them will not say.

How current is this rate?

The 7.8% on this page is the rate Unaitas Sacco last declared, as at 2023-12-31 — over 2 years old.

The dividend proposed for 2023 in the Sacco's own annual report: KES 316,872,140 on share capital of KES 4,067,127,204, about 7.8%. The report does not state a rate on deposits anywhere in its text. Declared after the year ended; nothing says next year matches.

This is the most recent figure Unaitas Sacco publishes, not the most recent figure that exists. Ask them what the current rate is before you decide anything on the strength of it.

What has changed here

  • 21 September 2026
    • Smallest lump sum to start is now KES 1,000, and was not published before

We started keeping this record in August 2026. Anything that changed before then is not here. The whole board's record.

What the documents actually say

Every figure above was read out of a document. These are the sentences, word for word, so you can check them rather than take our word for it.

Where we got this