Personal pension plans, side by side
You save for retirement in your own name, with a tax break, and cannot touch it until you retire.
On this example, Fahari Retirement Plan from Zamara comes out ahead: KES 334,490.
Ordered by what you would actually be left with — the same money in, over the same years, with each plan's own charges taken out. Not by the rate each one advertises. The example is the same for every plan here: KES 5,000 a month for 5 years.
Try your own numbers
How
| Plan | Rate they quote | Charges take | You'd end up with |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fahari Retirement PlanZamara | 5% guaranteedafter charges | KES 22,404 | KES 334,490 |
| Personal Pension PlanJubilee Life Insurance | 4% guaranteedbasis not stated | KES 0 | KES 332,600 |
- Fahari Retirement PlanZamara
- Rate they quote
- 5% guaranteedafter charges
- Charges take
- KES 22,404
- You'd end up with
- KES 334,490
- Personal Pension PlanJubilee Life Insurance
- Rate they quote
- 4% guaranteedbasis not stated
- Charges take
- KES 0
- You'd end up with
- KES 332,600
15 more in this group
Personal Retirement Scheme
ICEA LION Life AssurancePersonal pension
From KES 500/moStart: KES 500 a month, or morePay: Monthly, quarterly, half-yearly or annually4% a year, guaranteed, credited dailyAt least4% a yeartheir figure, basis not statedPersonal Pension Plan
Old Mutual Life Assurance KenyaPersonal pension
Leave any timeYearly charge: 1.25% of your savingsTaking money out: No penalty for withdrawingIndividual Retirement Plan
Britam Life AssurancePersonal pension
From KES 500/mo5% a year, compounded, and the pot cannot shrinkAt least5% a yeartheir figure, basis not statedPersonal Pension Plan
Madison Life Assurance KenyaPersonal pension
From KES 500/moLeast it pays: 5% a year, guaranteedLast rate published: 11% for 2021At least5% a yeartheir figure, before chargesJipange Plus Pension Plan
CIC Life AssurancePersonal pension
The least it can earn: 5% a year, guaranteedIRA, KRA and RBA, by the brochure's own wordsAt least5% a yeartheir figure, basis not statedAnnuity
Pioneer AssurancePersonal pension
The first KES 25,000 a month is exemptThe income is exempt from tax altogetherIndividual Pension Plan
Sanlam Allianz Life AssurancePersonal pension
From 50, against 55 or 60 in a work schemeSanlam says your capital is guaranteedIncome Drawdown Fund
ICEA LION Life AssurancePersonal pension
Single Premium Immediate Annuity
Jubilee InsurancePersonal pension
Income Drawdown
Jubilee InsurancePersonal pension
Personal Provident Plan
Jubilee InsurancePersonal pension
FlexiAnnuity
Sanlam Allianz Life AssurancePersonal pension
NSSF Tier II Contracting Out
Pioneer AssurancePersonal pension
Individual Pension Plan
Pioneer AssurancePersonal pension
Retirement Plan
Pioneer AssurancePersonal pension
Every figure here is worked out from the company's own published terms.
