PesaGuide
← All plans
Britam Life Assurance

Individual Retirement Plan

Personal pension · Regulated by the RBA

At least
5% a year
their figure, basis not stated

You save for retirement in your own name, from KES 500 a month. Britam guarantees at least 5% a year and that the pot never shrinks. Contributions are tax-free within legal limits.

Hear when this changes

What it has actually paid

  • 202513%

After the company's charges, where it publishes both. Past periods are not a promise about future ones.

What to watch out for

  • The 5% is a floor. Britam does not publish what it has actually credited.
  • No charge of any kind appears on the page or in the brochure. Whether the rate arrives before or after costs is not stated.
  • Minimum KES 500 a contribution; if you vary the amount, each payment must be at least KES 2,000. No upper limit.
  • Tax relief on contributions up to KES 20,000 a month or a third of income, whichever is lower. Interest is tax-exempt.
  • The brochure says "Regulated by the Retirement Benefits Authority"; the website footer says the Insurance Regulatory Authority. The scheme is on the RBA's register.

The details that matter for this kind of plan

The least it can earn
5% a year, compounded, and the pot cannot shrink
Tax
Contributions deductible up to KES 20,000 a month or a third of income
At retirement
A third as cash and the rest as income for life or over 10+ years — or all at once on the provident option
Backing a mortgage
Up to 60% of your pot can secure a home loan
If you die before retiring
The whole pot goes to whoever you named
Regulator
"Regulated by the Retirement Benefits Authority", printed on the brochure

How to open this

  • then KES 500 a month
  • top up from KES 2,000

What if you stop paying?

Nothing happens. You can pause, or change the amount and how often you pay.

What if you need the money early?

You mostly cannot. Pension money is locked to retirement by law. Britam says access follows "the prevailing regulations" and names no age.

Who this suits

It could work for you if

You want retirement money that cannot be raided, with a 5% floor under it.

Think twice if

You may need this money before you retire. The law, not Britam, says no.

What they tell you

  • What is the smallest amount you can start with?
    KES 500.
  • Do they say who regulates them?
    Yes — the RBA. That is who you complain to.

Talk to them

Compared with the others

There are 16 other plans of this kind on the board. See all 17 side by side — what each one leaves you with, and which of them will not say.

How current is this rate?

The 5% on this page is the rate Britam Life Assurance guaranteed, as at 2026-08-21 — 2 months old.

A floor, not the rate. Britam guarantees "a minimum compounded rate of 5% per annum" and that the pot "is guaranteed against any form of reduction". The page does not publish what it has actually credited, or whether the rate arrives before or after any cost.

What the documents actually say

Every figure above was read out of a document. These are the sentences, word for word, so you can check them rather than take our word for it.

Where we got this