PesaGuide
← All plans
ICEA LION Life Assurance

Personal Retirement Scheme

Personal pension · Regulated by the RBA

At least
4% a year
their figure, basis not stated

You save for retirement in your own name, from KES 500 a month. ICEA LION guarantees at least 4% a year, and the taxman leaves it alone within legal limits.

Hear when this changes

What it has actually paid

  • 20226.5%
  • 202310%

After the company's charges, where it publishes both. Past periods are not a promise about future ones.

What to watch out for

  • The 4% is a floor. The actual rate is declared each year and the page does not publish the history.
  • No charge of any kind appears on the page. Whether the declared rate arrives before or after costs is not stated.
  • Contributions above the legal tax-free limit are still invested, but taxed.
  • The scheme is on the Retirement Benefits Authority's own register, which is where a complaint goes: 0800 720 300.

The details that matter for this kind of plan

Start
KES 500 a month, or more
Pay
Monthly, quarterly, half-yearly or annually
The least it can earn
4% a year, guaranteed, credited daily
Tax
Contributions within legal limits, growth and payouts are all tax-free
At retirement
Take it all, or a third as cash and the rest as income for years or for life
Backing a mortgage
Up to 60% of your pot can secure a home loan
If you change jobs
The money stays yours, and other schemes transfer in tax-free
If you die before retiring
The balance goes to whoever you nominated

How to open this

  • then KES 500 a month

What if you stop paying?

Nothing happens. You can pause, change the amount, or change how often you pay.

What if you need the money early?

You mostly cannot. Pension money is locked to retirement by law. That is the design, not a penalty. The page does not state the earliest access age.

Who this suits

It could work for you if

You want a retirement plan that is safe, with a guaranteed minimum return.

Think twice if

You may need this money before you retire. The law, not the provider, says no.

What they tell you

  • What is the smallest amount you can start with?
    KES 500.
  • Do they say who regulates them?
    Yes — the RBA. That is who you complain to.

Talk to them

Compared with the others

There are 16 other plans of this kind on the board. See all 17 side by side — what each one leaves you with, and which of them will not say.

How current is this rate?

The 4% on this page is the rate ICEA LION Life Assurance guaranteed, as at 2026-08-20 — 2 months old.

A floor, not the rate. ICEA LION guarantees your savings earn at least 4% a year, credited daily; the actual rate is declared each year and can be higher. The page does not say whether the declared rate arrives before or after any charges.

What the documents actually say

Every figure above was read out of a document. These are the sentences, word for word, so you can check them rather than take our word for it.

  • “Start with as little as KES 500 per month.”
    ICEA LION Personal Retirement Scheme page (HTML snapshot)the company itselfread 2026-09-17
  • “You can adjust your contribution amount or payment frequency anytime; monthly, quarterly, half-yearly, or annually.”
    ICEA LION Personal Retirement Scheme page (HTML snapshot)the company itselfread 2026-09-17

Where we got this