Britam Life Assurance
Supervised by RBA · Their own site
- Founded
- 1979Nov 1979
- Owned by
- Kenyan based enterprisesSept 2026
- Size
- 22% of Kenya's life insurance market2024
- Latest results
- 52% rise in pre-tax profit in 2024Jan 2024
- Shares
- Listed on Nairobi Securities Exchange (ticker BRIT) since 2011Jan 2011
- Where to find them
- Subsidiaries in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan, Mozambique, Malawi; headquarters in NairobiSept 2026
What their plans have paid
Individual Retirement Plan
- 202513%
After their charges, where they publish both. Past years are not a promise about future ones.
Their 12 plans
Tegemeo Term Assurance
Britam Life AssuranceLife cover only
From KES 3,000/moKES 3,000 a month buys KES 3m of coverIf you skip the medical: Full cover waits 12 monthsFamily Income Plan
Britam Life AssuranceLife cover only
From KES 3,000/moA monthly income to your family, rising 10% a yearCheapest cover published: From KES 3,000 a monthFariji Funeral Cover
Britam Life AssuranceFuneral cover
Half within 72 hours on a burial permitMedical test: None requiredIndividual Retirement Plan
Britam Life AssurancePersonal pension
From KES 500/mo5% a year, compounded, and the pot cannot shrinkAt least5% a yeartheir figure, basis not statedDhamana
Britam Life AssuranceSavings plan with life cover
From KES 1,000/moWhat is guaranteed: 5% a year on continuing policiesHow long it runs: Strictly 15 yearsAt least5% a yeartheir figure, basis not statedCarePlus Protection Plan
Britam Life AssuranceLife cover only
Who can join: 18 to 60, covered to 65Msingi Poa
Britam Life AssuranceSchool fees plan
Last three years: No premiums are dueSuper E Plus Education Plan
Britam Life AssuranceSchool fees plan
Bonuses of 130% of the cover over the last six yearsTax relief: Up to 15% of premiums on terms over 10 yearsWhole Life Insurance
Britam Life AssuranceLife cover with savings
How long it lasts: For life, not a fixed termWhat the payout does: Rises 3% a yearAkiba
Britam Life AssuranceSavings plan with life cover
How long it runs: 5 to 12 yearsBoresha Education Plan
Britam Life AssuranceSchool fees plan
Soma Sure Education Plan
Britam Life AssuranceSchool fees plan
Everything on this page is copied from documents we cite and date on each plan's own page. If you work for Britam Life Assurance and we have something wrong, or you publish a figure we have recorded as missing, tell us and we will correct it.