Bank savings account plans, side by side
Money you can add to and take out. The bank pays interest it can change at any time, and usually charges a fee each month for holding the account.
On this example, Absa Junior Savings Account from Absa Bank Kenya PLC comes out ahead: KES 350,130.
Ordered by what you would actually be left with — the same money in, over the same years, with each plan's own charges taken out. Not by the rate each one advertises. The example is the same for every plan here: KES 5,000 a month for 5 years.
| Plan | Rate they quote | Charges take | You'd end up with |
|---|---|---|---|
| Absa Junior Savings AccountAbsa Bank Kenya PLC | up to 7% quoted nowbasis not stated | KES 0 | KES 350,130 |
| Cub AccountKCB Bank Kenya | up to 7% quoted nowbasis not stated | KES 0 | KES 350,130 |
| Absa Digital Savings AccountAbsa Bank Kenya PLC | up to 6% quoted nowbasis not stated | KES 0 | KES 342,348 |
| Jumbo Junior (Children’s Account)The Co-operative Bank of Kenya Ltd | up to 6% quoted nowbasis not stated | KES 0 | KES 342,348 |
- Absa Junior Savings AccountAbsa Bank Kenya PLC
- Rate they quote
- up to 7% quoted nowbasis not stated
- Charges take
- KES 0
- You'd end up with
- KES 350,130
- Cub AccountKCB Bank Kenya
- Rate they quote
- up to 7% quoted nowbasis not stated
- Charges take
- KES 0
- You'd end up with
- KES 350,130
- Absa Digital Savings AccountAbsa Bank Kenya PLC
- Rate they quote
- up to 6% quoted nowbasis not stated
- Charges take
- KES 0
- You'd end up with
- KES 342,348
- Jumbo Junior (Children’s Account)The Co-operative Bank of Kenya Ltd
- Rate they quote
- up to 6% quoted nowbasis not stated
- Charges take
- KES 0
- You'd end up with
- KES 342,348
22 more in this group
DTB Zawadi Savings Account
Diamond Trust Bank Kenya LtdBank savings account
From KES 1,000 to startInterest credit frequency: Half-yearlyTujenge Account
Family Bank LimitedBank savings account
From KES 200 to startMonthly fee: Nil monthly ledger fee.Foreign Currency Savings Account
Absa Bank Kenya PLCBank savings account
From USD 0 to startMonthly fee: No charges applicable.DTB Just for Me Account
Diamond Trust Bank Kenya LtdBank savings account
From KES 0 to startFree withdrawals: Up to 4 per yearDTB Savings Account
Diamond Trust Bank Kenya LtdBank savings account
From KES 0 to startInterest credit frequency: Half-yearlyNot published on the website; bank says contact branch.Mdosi Junior Account
Family Bank LimitedBank savings account
From KES 200 to startMonthly fee: Nil monthly ledger fee.Hekima Savings Account
The Co-operative Bank of Kenya LtdBank savings account
From KES 0 to startInterest calculation: Calculated daily, paid quarterlyOnly one withdrawal per calendar quarterDTB Prime USD/EUR/GBP Savings Account
Diamond Trust Bank Kenya LtdBank savings account
Goal Savings Account
KCB Bank KenyaBank savings account
From KES 1,000 to startSavings period: Lock savings for 6 months to 5 years.Simba Savings Account
KCB Bank KenyaBank savings account
From KES 1,000 to startInterest: Up to 7% per year (paid on savings).Withdrawals: Only one withdrawal a month.Jijenge Account
Equity Bank (Kenya) LimitedBank savings account
From KES 300/moGold Savings Account
NCBA Bank Kenya PLCBank savings account
Minimum operating balance: KES 2,000Minimum interest-earning balance: KES 5,000Junior Savings Account
NCBA Bank Kenya PLCBank savings account
Minimum operating balance: KES 2,000Minimum interest-earning balance: KES 5,000Premier Savings Account
NCBA Bank Kenya PLCBank savings account
Minimum operating balance: KES 100,000La Riba Junior Savings
Absa Bank Kenya PLCBank savings account
Monthly fee: No monthly maintenance fee.EazzySave Account
Equity Bank (Kenya) LimitedBank savings account
Minimum operating balance: No minimum operating balance.Call Deposit Account
Stanbic Bank KenyaBank savings account
From KES 20,000 to startPureSave Account
Stanbic Bank KenyaBank savings account
From KES 5,000 to start1 over-the-counter cash withdrawal is free each monthInterest pays on balances above: KES 5,000+La Riba Al Hadaf Savings
Absa Bank Kenya PLCBank savings account
Not published — rate depends on average balanceTimiza Goal Savings Account
Absa Bank Kenya PLCBank savings account
6% per year, paid quarterly into your wallet/account.I&M Savings Account
I&M Holdings LtdBank savings account
Current Account
NCBA Bank Kenya PLCBank savings account
Interest earnings: NoneThey quote0% a yeartheir figure, basis not stated
Every figure here is worked out from the company's own published terms.